lots of little churches

and to the church in your house… Philemon1:2

What Church do I go to? I don’t. I don’t “go to” the ones on the corner with wood, stones, mortar, steeples, pews, lobbys, offices, classrooms, donation envelopes, ATMs, liturgies, confession boxes, “prayer rooms”, membership contracts, State-incorporation, power-tripping Clergy, Spirit-squashing Church traditions, mics, stages, sound systems, lighting systems and elevated pulpits.

But I am a part of lots of little churches, and we are all united; one flock, with one Shepherd.

What do my lots of little churches look like? Where are they located? Who are the leaders? Is there a liturgy or order of service? Do we meet on Sundays?

I had dinner out with J.; we are a little church. My friend K. came over and we sat in the living room; we are a little church.
My daughter and I spent time together; we are a little church. My daughter’s girl friend spent the evening at our kitchen table.
We talked for hours; the 3 of us are a little church. I chat with my blogger friends online, we are a little church. I chat
with many friends via email; we are lots of little churches. One Facebook friend came thru my city on her way across the country and
she stopped by for tea; we were a church of 2 sisters. On Skype, i meet up sometimes with 2 or 3 friends, we are a little church. I talk on the phone to one
dear sister who lives in another state, we are a little church.

I find the followers of Jesus all the time out in public. We stand there on the sidewalk together, we are a little street church. Out in the parking lot
with a girlfriend, we are a little church in the sunshine. I send a letter in the mail…. the postman delivers “love one another” to my far away friend.

P. comes over for dinner, we eat, share, cry, read scripture and pray. We hang out in the backyard sitting in lawn chairs near the vegetable garden, just being together. We are a little church every time he comes over.

My FB friend sends me an encouraging email. We are a little church thru the miles.

My little churches, “gatherings” really, happen wherever I happen to be with another saint, and we are sharing time together, and sharing encouragement together. Jesus is with us. The leader is the Holy Spirit and there is no clergy, no order of service or liturgy, there is no “Hierarchy”, no power- trips, no committees, no board and definitely no “proper Church clothes”. There is no required day.

There are only a few of us at a time, with Jesus, together with one another. We are a little church in my house.  When we communicate with one another in any way, we are together and we are a little church. One body, one Spirit. Lots of little churches.

14 thoughts on “lots of little churches

  1. ahh, it had to happen eventually. I’ve been blogging since 2007 on WordPress and the inevitable has happened. At the bottom of the post here, I see an announcement from WordPress that says:

    “Occasionally, some of your visitors may see an advertisement here.

    Tell me more | Dismiss this message”

    First time i’ve seen this in all these years. So i apologize for the ads, whatever they are, they are not a reflection of me or choice by me to have them there. I guess I can pay $ to have them taken off. Just wanted to address this as i notice it here. Thanks friends.

  2. Excellent article & insight. In review of many churches in America, it is impossible for a pastor to teach biblical principles and the stern writings of Yahshua and the apostles (ie Paul). The assembly would take offense if presented in historical context (Yahsua as Judaism Rabbi of the Nazarene sect and Paul as Pharisee of the sect as well). It is too strict for western culture and feminized women would become too upset and complain to the nth degree to their spiritually crippled husbands.

    To receive apostolic power – one must be in apostolic practice.
    Apostolic practice is one of obedience, holiness, and righteousness in truth.

    If you are interested , here is a great commentary from Schaff of the early churches that offers quite a bit of insight into the early church practices that is worth investigating.

    http://www.ccel.org/ccel/schaff/hcc1.html

    Many blessings !
    ~Sahlom

    • Never heard of him, thank you for the link. Also, it took me a while to get what you meant by “feminized women” lol…. (i get it now, you are referring to the “Feminist Movement”)……. Because i want to be a “feminine” woman! ; )

      • Western Evangelicalism has exchanged the “Feminine woman” that submits to the scriptures, Judaeo-Christian Marriage, and her husband for the “Feminized Woman ” who decides her husbands conduct doesn’t align with her desires or he’s not “godly” enough or not “properly sacrificed”, then the wife is perfectly justified in disrespecting him, disobeying him, refusing to submit to him, overtly and covertly usurping and subverting his authority, refusing to honor her spousal obligations, and ultimately in divorcing him.

        The Church Impotent by Leon J. Podles has explained how Feminism has entered the church and crippled it.
        This can be found online for free and is a great read.
        It explains how the “spirit of Jezebel” has entered in (welcomed in) and changed it into Babylon.

        I hope that helps !!
        ~Shalom

  3. I also wanted to mention especially for those who are new or newly out of Churchianity, that we understand the word “church” is problematic. But it is so common, it is very hard to get it out of our vocabulary. It is good to do research on the history of the word church, what it means, where it comes from, and how it got into the English bible. Jesus and the apostles said “ekklesia” which means a called out assembly (and variations of that). Tyndale chose the word, “congregation” to translate ekklesia. The powers of the Church System wanted the word church, not only that but Capitalized as Church, to basically support the Church System which was at the time, formally married with the State System. So. And then there’s the little thing about the English word church coming from “circe” who was a not- nice goddess of mythology who gives wine and makes drunk, her victims. In our culture, “Church” is referring directly to the System Christianity construct that was put into place at the time of Constantine, and preserved by the powers and popes of Institutionalized and State-sponsored Christianity ever since then. Church in our culture also refers to “the building”. So the word has baggage, and we are sometimes using it with different meaning, sometimes using other words to convey the sheep of Christ who are called (out) by Him, to follow Him. Big topic, research is recommended. with love, L

  4. Every time my email says BING a message from Witnessing encouragement I smile and read the email quickly! I’m always encouraged. Thank you for being a empty vessel. I pray your strength in The Lord 🙂

  5. Really nice my sister, we have been drawn by Love Himself. He is not only our Lord and Father, but also our very life. I agree the Corp. Church is completely unrelated and unrecognizable from the Ekklesia and is a big topic of needed research. Mat 16:18 And I say also unto thee, That thou art Peter, and upon this rock I will build My Ekklesia; and the gates of hell shall not prevail against it. When the disciples of Jesus began to use the word ekklesia to describe their spiritual bond in Christ, the word took on a special meaning. “I will build My Ekklesia” said Jesus and so, to the early Christians, the Ekklesia became the spiritual gathering together into Christ of those whom He calls out. Called out of what? 1Pe 2:9 But ye are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, an holy nation, a peculiar people; that ye should shew forth the praises of him who hath called you out of darkness into his marvellous light.

    The point of this is to explain that the Ekklesia is not a religious organization or a building; it is a spiritual fellowship of all those whom Christ has called out of spiritual darkness to walk together in union with Himself.

    Only two NT scriptures mention the “house of God” and they both refer to people, not buildings. 1Ti 3:15 But if I tarry long, that thou mayest know how thou oughtest to behave thyself in the house of God, which is the church of the living God, the pillar and ground of the truth….. which is the ekklesia of God. 1Pe 4:17 For the time is come that judgment must begin at the house of God: and if it first begin at US, what shall the end be of them that obey not the gospel of God? …. “Us” refers to people.

    The difference between the Ekklesia and the Church is the difference between spiritual liberty in Christ and religious bondage to the traditions of men.

    Grace be with you all,

    Linda

  6. “And it came to pass in that night, that the word of the Lord came to Nathan, saying, Go and say to David my servant, Thus said the Lord, Thou shalt not build me a house for me to dwell in it. For I have not dwelt in a house from the day that I brought up Israel until this day, but I have been in a tabernacle and a tent, in all places through which I have gone with all Israel: did I ever speak to any one tribe of Israel whom I commanded to feed my people, saying, Why is it that ye have not built me a house of cedar?” (1 Chronicles 17:3–6, Brenton LXX En)

    … on numerous occasions, the LORD tells different leaders to ‘feed my people’. with all of the money spent on buildings – rent/mortgage, utilities, ect.. most churches have no money left to feed anybody. it is part of the sinful nature that desires our own little kingdoms.

Leave a comment