The Blazing Center of the Glory of God

Here in America, there are several alternative “gospels” that are growing in popularity. One is a gospel of Humanism, Psychology and self-esteem, another is a courting of skepticism in “conversations and dialogue” with unbelievers, and yet another is a social gospel of solving the temporal world’s physical problems, in order to create ‘world peace’. These alternative gospels glorify man and his accomplishments. The true gospel has always been distasteful; it offends man’s intellectual sensibilities and pride because the true gospel glorifies God and not man.

In, Don’t Waste Your Life, p. 48-49, John Piper writes, “What was once foolishness to us- a crucified God- must become our wisdom and our power and our only boast in this world. I argued in Chapter 2 that God created us to live for his glory, and that God is most glorified in us when we are most satisfied in him. We magnify God’s worth the most when he becomes our only boast. And I concluded that chapter with a claim that his glory can only be seen and savored by sinners through the glory of Jesus Christ. Any other approach to God is illusion or incineration. If we would make much of God, we must make much of Christ. His bloody death is the blazing center of the glory of God. If God is to be our only boast, what he did and what he is in Christ must be our boast.”

The true gospel is about Who Jesus Christ is, and what He did on the cross.

And when I came to you, brethren, I did not come with superiority of speech or of wisdom, proclaiming to you the testimony of God. For I determined to know nothing among you except Jesus Christ, and Him crucified. I was with you in weakness and in fear and in much trembling, and my message and my preaching were not in persuasive words of wisdom, but in demonstration of the Spirit and of power, so that your faith would not rest on the wisdom of men, but on the power of God. 1 Cor.2:1-5.

But may it never be that I should boast, except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, through which the world has been crucified to me, and I to the world. Gal.6:14.

Near the Cross
By: Fanny Crosby

Jesus keep me near the cross- There a precious fountain,
Free to all, a healing stream, Flows from Calvary’s mountain.

In the cross, in the cross, be my glory ever, til my raptured soul shall find
Rest beyond the river.

Near the cross I’ll watch and wait, Hoping, trusting ever,
Til I reach the golden strand, Just beyone the river.

In the cross, in the cross, be my glory ever, til my raptured soul shall find
Rest beyond the river.

Leave a comment