Preach the Gospel to Yourself

Everyday. Preach truth to yourself, everyday. How do we rid ourselves of our burdens and the oppression and guilt of our sin, and get joy again? What can we do about the sin in our lives? Preach the gospel to yourself everyday. The gospel is not only for unbelievers, it is for us! We need the gospel everyday. It is the center of our entire being for as long as we live, and for all eternity. Jesus is the gospel! We need Him everyday.

God is holy! Our sin is so sinful! Our sin separates us from God and effects spiritual death. But God offered up Jesus as the sacrifice for our sins, taking them away forever! He bought us with His blood! The price was paid. Jesus is the sacrifice for our sins! He gave His own life for us to save us from judgment! He was an offering and a sacrifice to God on our behalf, out of His great love, mercy and grace to us, so that we may be forgiven and cleansed from our sins, and have life! He has given us His righteousness as a gift! Jesus, our God and Savior, has done it all! Jesus alone: our hope and salvation from the judgment and condemnation of God. Jesus rose from the dead, defeating sin and death! O thank Him! Thank You Jesus! Confess your sins to Him, repent of them, turn to Him, believe in Him to forgive you, put faith in His promises and trust Him in all things. Thank Him and worship Him! He has given you mercy; He has given you grace. He has taken the guilt and shame away. He loves you. He gave Himself for you.

If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. He who hears my word and believes Him who sent Me, has eternal life and does not come into judgment but has passed out of death into life. There is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus! Hence, also, He is able to save forever those who draw near to God through Him, since He always lives to make intercession for them. He made Him who knew no sin to be sin on our behalf, that we might become the righteousness of God in Him. In Him we have redemption through His blood, the forgiveness of our trespasses, according to the riches of His grace which He lavished upon us.

Listen to gospel preaching. Read gospel truth in the Word. Think on the gospel all the time. Preach the gospel to yourself. Read the gospel in books. Sing! Worship Him in song! Worship Him in response. Thank Him! Be thankful! Preach the gospel to others: tell others! This way, you can preach the gospel to yourself while you are preaching it to others, and you will be a witness to the gospel to others, while you are encouraging yourself with the truth of the blessed gospel, which saved you, and sanctifies you. Then you will experience the forgiveness and freedom from sin that you already have in Christ, as well as the joy of your salvation, and you will be blessed and encouraged.

O God the Holy Spirit,
Put Jesus on display:
Remind me how my Savior
Took all my guilt away.
My sins were all forgiven
And satisfaction made;
Atonement was completed,
My captive soul was saved.

O God the Holy Spirit,
Come deepen and impart
These saving, loving lessons
Upon my desp’rate heart
That I might loathe my evil
And flee from Satan’s snares
Then run to my Redeemer
And cast on Him my cares.

O God the Holy Spirit

I lay my sins on Jesus,
the spotless Lamb who died;
He bears them all and frees me
from all my shame and pride.
I bring my guilt to Jesus,
to wash my crimson stains
White in His blood most precious
’till not a spot remains.

I lay my wants on Jesus,
my advocate above;
He heals my broken body,
redeems my soul in love.
I lay my griefs on Jesus,
my burdens and my cares;
He takes them all upon Him
and in my sorrow shares.

I rest my soul on Jesus,
this weary, thirsty soul;
His gentle arms embrace me
and point me towards the goal.
I put my hope in Jesus
to bring me safely home,
To sing with heaven’s millions,
my praise to Him alone.

I Lay My Sins on Jesus

The phrase, “Preach the gospel to yourself” was coined, I believe, by Jerry Bridges.

6 thoughts on “Preach the Gospel to Yourself

  1. Yay Jessi, the Word comforts and encourages us with the gospel of our Lord and Savior Jesus. He is so good to us. He is everything, He has done everything, He gives us everything.

    Loretta

  2. Hi Lorretta, Thank you for adding Streetfishing to your blogroll. I will be looking over your blog in the next couple of days and returing the support.

    Thanks again and keep up the good work.

    Rob

Leave a comment