exhortations from the Kingdom of heaven

But Jesus said, Suffer little children, and forbid them not, to come unto me: for of such is the kingdom of heaven. Matthew 19:14

Verily I say unto you, Whosoever shall not receive the kingdom of God as a little child, he shall not enter therein. Mark 10:15

Remember Jesus Christ, risen from the dead, descendant of David, according to my gospel, 2Tim.2:8

Sitting on the 3rd floor balcony of my motel room, having a morning cup of coffee, I saw her walk into the parking lot below and enter the trash bin shed. There she changed clothes and re-arranged her packs of stuff, then started rifling thru the trash, collecting paper takeout boxes of discarded leftovers and putting them in a plastic bag.

She saw me and walked over towards me and spoke first. She was physically vulnerable. She was humble and gentle. She was homeless. She was a middle-aged female. She was like the kind of person that many would disregard as completely insignificant and of no value to “society” whatsoever. She spoke as a child. Some would say she sounded “crazy.”

“Watch out for my husband, if you see him!” (she described what he looks like.) “He is a pedophile and an abuser, he gave me AIDS. I met him at Church and he fooled me and hurt me and my children bad. Be careful and watch out for the fake Christians.”

Then she said,

“Remember Jesus Christ.”

She identified herself as in Christ, to me, first. She bore witness to me and gave me exhortation before even first knowing that I am her sister.

We spoke a few things to each other, I up on the balcony looking down at her with all her belongings in bags, her day’s food someone else’s discarded leftovers.

I told her, yes I will. (I will do what she told me. I will be careful of the fake Christians. I will remember Jesus.) She started blessing me in the Lord and telling me she will pray for me in Jesus name. I told her I love her and she told me she loved me. We said a few more things to each other and she went on her way.

2 thoughts on “exhortations from the Kingdom of heaven

Leave a Reply

