my neighbor

All who came before Me are thieves and robbers ..John10

A man was going down from Jerusalem to Jericho, when he was attacked by robbers. They stripped him of his clothes, beat him and went away, leaving him half dead. Luke10

Now by chance a priest was going down that road, and when he saw him he passed by on the other side. So likewise a Levite, when he came to the place and saw him, passed by on the other side. Luke10

Two weeks later, I am still blown away and pondering the profound pain-filled statements made to me by a very dear friend, relating the emotional pain and suffering she has been struggling with because of experiencing spiritual abuse and shunning. This post is for all my friends (you know who you are) who have experienced social-relational abuse, spiritual abuse, Church System abuse, narcissist psychopath abuse, family emotional abuse, workplace bully abuse, and institutional shunning.

When friends and “neighbors” hurt and are in emotional pain and agony and confusion because of these things, it is LOVE that is concerned, that has empathy, that has compassion, for the person who was beat up, bleeding and left for half dead on the road, while the priests & Levites pass by to the other side. Yes, Jesus is judging those who were “not a neighbor” to that beat up person. He has love for the beaten, the robbed, the injured, the neglected and the shunned. This is love. It is awkward, messy work, this love. There’s blood, tears and bruised and torn flesh everywhere. Jesus cares for these hurting neighbors among us. Who is my neighbor? The injured one who has been abused by the “thieves and robbers” and shunned by the “priests”.  Who is a neighbor to the hurting abuse victim? The one who shows mercy to him.

6 thoughts on “my neighbor

  1. my neighbor is my dear Christian friend who is suffering with grief, pain and wounds from being beat up by robbers, and then shunned by the religious– the very people she thought would understand and care about her and care about doing what is right.

  2. We can look at this suffering in another way. God purifies his children’s lives. The believer is exposed to the most “unexpected” types of persecution. He does this by putting the soul of the believer into the crucible of trials where everything becomes dark. The Spirit does it by stripping away every outside support. Our despair becomes intense when every “support” is taken away. This is part of the pressing into unconditional abandonment of ourselves to our Lord. This is part of our overcoming. It is revealing and humbling. 1Pe 5:10 But the God of all grace, who hath called us unto his eternal glory by Christ Jesus, after that ye have suffered a while, make you perfect, stablish, strengthen, settle you.

    Linda

  3. Here we have a prophetic scripture look at what Jeremiah was told concerning
    Israel, God’s chosen people. It came to pass… The only thing I could add to this
    is God is the same…yesterday, today and forever…according to scripture.

    “But Mikey! We are not meant for God’s Wrath!” Really?!?! This only holds true
    for His elect, and regarding His FINAL JUDGMENT at the end of this age… The
    purpose of what you know as the rapture of His elect is to remove them from His
    final and complete judgment, and according to scripture, this takes place at the
    final trump.

    Now for the good news!

    “Those who do My Will are My own. They are not hearers only. They have a
    relationship with Me where I am pre-eminent. They abide in Me and I in them.
    They know My Voice and in no way will follow another. They are the wise virgins
    and not the foolish virgins. They have enough of their own supply of Oil and
    need not go attempt to borrow or buy their Oil as the foolish virgins attempt to
    do. They are wheat that produce fruit, not tares that look like wheat but
    produce no real fruit. They are the olive tree that are found with fruit and not
    just a promise of Life having leaves only and no fruit. They are faithful
    servants who are found taking care of My possession’s, and not hiding what I
    have entrusted to them nor abusing my other servants. They follow as a flock and
    are not in need of being driven as a herd of goats. They are deep and good soil
    producing fruit and not being choked out by the cares of this world nor the
    deceitfulness of treasures acquired here on earth, for they lay up their
    treasures with Me in Heaven. They embrace their decrease and seek not worldly
    increase. They when confronted with My Truth and their error ask, ‘Is it I
    Lord?’ Rather than chattering on saying, ‘I am highly favored and blessed and in
    need of bigger barns to hold my possessions.’
    They are not the many who are merely called, but rather they are the few who are
    both called and also chosen! They are My ‘living stones’ formed and fitted
    together by Me as My dwelling place and not mere rock crafted by man’s hands and
    built by men to be a temple for Me against my clear Word to David and for their
    enrichment. For I dwell not in the buildings made of men’s hands but rather in
    the One Dwelling David’s seed, My Son Jesus The Christ is building.
    Go! Look and see what I have said to David regarding his desire to build Me a
    temple! Yes and this only after choosing to build himself a palace by employing
    a pagan temple builder. See My prophesy of My Son Jesus building an everlasting
    Temple not David’s son Solomon building that temple and turning My Blessing into
    a short lived 28 years. See also the silencing of my prophets during the ensuing
    captivities, as their priests rule by their own authority and their prophets
    prophesying lies and their people loving to have it so! Shepherds who shear My
    sheep and live off My possessions as they fatten themselves rather than caring
    for My sheep! No! My sheep know My Voice and will in no way follow another. They
    are not sheep of another shepherd who gathers them for his good pleasure. My
    sheep have eyes to see and ears to hear. They are not those who follow blindly
    the blind guides. And yet while the thief and robber attempt to climb in another
    way, they are mere hirelings of the people and not My under-shepherds. Yes Mine
    are scattered by the wolves who seek to devour them, yet they are protected
    eternally by Me for My Glory! Not one of My chosen shall be plucked from My
    Hand. I shall, by persecution and tribulations chasten and purify My chosen and
    make them white as snow and give them a stone and a new name for I have marked
    them for this purpose and My Glory! For they will be My people, even those who
    were not my people, and I will be their God. For I will have mercy on whom I
    will have mercy and I will cast out whom I will cast out. For My Own I Am the
    fragrance of Life but for those who will weep and gnash their teeth, I am the
    smell of death!”

    Jeremiah 18 King James Version (KJV)

    The word which came to Jeremiah from the Lord, saying, Arise, and go down to the potter’s house, and there I will cause thee to hear my words.
    Then I went down to the potter’s house, and, behold, he wrought a work on the
    wheels. And the vessel that he made of clay was marred in the hand of the potter: so
    he made it again another vessel, as seemed good to the potter to make it.
    Then the word of the Lord came to me, saying,
    O house of Israel, cannot I do with you as this potter? saith the Lord.
    Behold, as the clay is in the potter’s hand, so are ye in mine hand, O house of
    Israel.
    At what instant I shall speak concerning a nation, and concerning a kingdom,
    to pluck up, and to pull down, and to destroy it;
    If that nation, against whom I have pronounced, turn from their evil, I will
    repent of the evil that I thought to do unto them.
    And at what instant I shall speak concerning a nation, and concerning a
    kingdom, to build and to plant it;
    If it do evil in my sight, that it obey not my voice, then I will repent of
    the good, wherewith I said I would benefit them.
    Now therefore go to, speak to the men of Judah, and to the inhabitants of
    Jerusalem, saying, Thus saith the Lord; Behold, I frame evil against you, and
    devise a device against you: return ye now every one from his evil way, and make
    your ways and your doings good.
    And they said, There is no hope: but we will walk after our own devices, and
    we will every one do the imagination of his evil heart.
    Therefore thus saith the Lord; Ask ye now among the heathen, who hath heard
    such things: the virgin of Israel hath done a very horrible thing.
    Will a man leave the snow of Lebanon which cometh from the rock of the field?
    or shall the cold flowing waters that come from another place be forsaken?
    Because my people hath forgotten me, they have burned incense to vanity, and
    they have caused them to stumble in their ways from the ancient paths, to walk
    in paths, in a way not cast up;
    To make their land desolate, and a perpetual hissing; every one that passeth
    thereby shall be astonished, and wag his head.
    I will scatter them as with an east wind before the enemy; I will shew them
    the back, and not the face, in the day of their calamity.
    Then said they, Come and let us devise devices against Jeremiah; for the law
    shall not perish from the priest, nor counsel from the wise, nor the word from
    the prophet. Come, and let us smite him with the tongue, and let us not give
    heed to any of his words.
    Give heed to me, O Lord, and hearken to the voice of them that contend with
    me.
    Shall evil be recompensed for good? for they have digged a pit for my soul.
    Remember that I stood before thee to speak good for them, and to turn away thy
    wrath from them.
    Therefore deliver up their children to the famine, and pour out their blood
    by the force of the sword; and let their wives be bereaved of their children,
    and be widows; and let their men be put to death; let their young men be slain
    by the sword in battle.
    Let a cry be heard from their houses, when thou shalt bring a troop suddenly
    upon them: for they have digged a pit to take me, and hid snares for my feet.
    Yet, Lord, thou knowest all their counsel against me to slay me: forgive not
    their iniquity, neither blot out their sin from thy sight, but let them be
    overthrown before thee; deal thus with them in the time of thine anger.

    Blessed be The Name of our Lord! Though He slay Me yet I will bless ad serve Him!

  4. Hi. The Lord revealed I was in a cult. I got out, but my husband is still very much brainwashed and invested in Sam soleyn’s group. It’s so hard to be shunned and follow the voice of the Lord and not the lies thrown at you. Especially from people who profess to ‘love’ you.

    Good luck!

    • hi Janine, I ran into them about two years ago! I was looking online for a Christian home fellowship in my area and found this couple who said in a “home church” website that they had fellowship meetings, prayer, worship, service, loving neighbors, ekklesia type gatherings where everybody participated. I went to visit. The husband (leader of this group) said “oh that was several years ago.. we have moved on and are not doing that anymore… we are now doing something else..” (i am just summarizing what he meant). He gave me this book My Father My Father by Soleyn and tole me to read it and if I agreed with it completely and was willing to do what was in the book (submit to all the ideas and practices) then I would be welcome to join their new group. The second he placed this book into my hand and I saw the title and picture, i KNEW it was a cult. I said thanks and told him I’d let him know.. went home, read it, was horrified. It is clearly a controlling “dominance and submission” Shepherding cult where the entire point of your “Christian life” is to submit in every matter, to a human “father” that is placed over you. Bondage and lies to the maximum. Thanks for writing!

Leave a Reply

