pledge

“Lord, to whom shall we go? You have the words of eternal life.” Jn.6:68

Now when everybody stands, places their right hand on their heart, eyes on the flag, and pledges allegiance to the flag of the United States of America, and to the Republic for which it stands…….. i stand still with my arms down to my side, or hands clasped behind my back, with my eyes closed or looking down, praying silently to the Lord, while the crowd pledges to the (government of) the United States of America. Jesus is my allegiance and I have no other. And I’m not ashamed to say it. (Shaming no longer hurts me, I only feel the joy of Jesus Christ when i am shamed by those who are embarrassed by me.) He has been so faithful in His covenant with me. How could I betray His love and faithfulness, by pledging loyalty to another?

2 thoughts on “pledge

  1. amen to your comment. My husband and I visited a church last year and the leadership led the congregation into the pledge of allegiance. My husband and I did not participate and never went back.

Leave a Reply

