perils

I have been on frequent journeys, in dangers from rivers, dangers from robbers, dangers from my countrymen, dangers from the Gentiles, dangers in the city, dangers in the wilderness, dangers on the sea, dangers among false brethren…2Cor11:26 nasb

In journeyings often, in perils of waters, in perils of robbers, in perils by mine own countrymen, in perils by the heathen, in perils in the city, in perils in the wilderness, in perils in the sea, in perils among false brethren…2Cor11:26  kjb

In my journeys as a pilgrim, I have encountered many troubles and dangers. I have been in peril from the flood of lies and satanic evil that the serpent has poured out of his mouth after me, to try to sweep me away. I have been in the peril from the robbers along the road who attacked me, beat me and tried to strip me of everything I am and everything I have in Christ. I have been in peril from my own countrymen; people who claimed to be my Christian brethren but they treated me with betrayal, contempt, rejection, condemnation and hate. I’ve been in peril from the heathen who have laughed at and mocked and threatened and cursed me. I was in peril for many years in the “city of Christendom” where I naïvely thought I would be safe. I have been in peril in the wilderness, where I found as many spiritual dangers there as in the city! And I have been in peril from the great dragon-powered Beast that has risen out of the sea, that kills and destroys it’s enemies; the Beast that the whole world (and the whole Church) wonders after! I’ve been in peril from false “brethren” who have wanted to kill me! Why such perils? Because of the word of God and the testimony of Jesus Christ. 


4 thoughts on “perils

  1. Yes the perils are very many and increasing. The water is gushing out of the serpent’s mouth to sweep us away. But it is comforting to see the Scripture fulfilled as much as I want no man or woman to be swept away.

  2. Thank you for boldly and courageously sticking to the simplicity of Christ in us. Like Paul, we may not be eloquent of speech, nor impressive in person, yet if we stick like glue to Christ, He will enable us. He will do it, He will act. He will carry us through the rivers and the floods when our feet can’t touch bottom. And when we get there, we’ll be that much further downstream toward our goal! Blessings on all who, like you, are faithful to Him alone. It is to Christ we’ll answer.

  3. From Loretta’s blog: “In journeyings often, in perils of waters, in perils of robbers, in perils by mine own countrymen, in perils by the heathen, in perils in the city, in perils in the wilderness, in perils in the sea, in perils among false brethren…2Cor11:26” I needed to re-read that passage again Loretta. You also put in a very lucid way the same perils that are so very real. Killing is not just a coded metaphor but is very very real. That’s ok – the more they want to kill us – the more we huddle together to talk about Life. Scott Sepanek

Leave a Reply

