mystery history

And there came one of the seven angels which had the seven vials, and talked with me, saying unto me, Come hither; I will shew unto thee the judgment of the great whore that sitteth upon many waters: With whom the kings of the earth have committed fornication, and the inhabitants of the earth have been made drunk with the wine of her fornication. So he carried me away in the spirit into the wilderness: and I saw a woman sit upon a scarlet coloured beast, full of names of blasphemy, having seven heads and ten horns. And the woman was arrayed in purple and scarlet colour, and decked with gold and precious stones and pearls, having a golden cup in her hand full of abominations and filthiness of her fornication: And upon her forehead was a name written, MYSTERY, BABYLON THE GREAT, THE MOTHER OF HARLOTS AND ABOMINATIONS OF THE EARTH. And I saw the woman drunken with the blood of the saints, and with the blood of the martyrs of Jesus: and when I saw her, I wondered with great admiration. And the angel said unto me, Wherefore didst thou marvel? I will tell thee the mystery of the woman, and of the beast that carrieth her, which hath the seven heads and ten horns. Revelation17:1-7

Here is an article about the history of the Harlot Church, written by Andy Zoppelt

The Harlot Church Through History
by Andy Zoppelt

“I have often wondered about the Harlot mentioned in the book of Revelation. But one day while reading Revelation 17:6-7, something caught my attention and something that was put into scripture to get our attention. “I saw the woman [the harlot], drunk with the blood of the saints and with the blood of the martyrs of Jesus. And when I saw her, I marveled with great amazement. But the angel said to me, “Why did you marvel? [Did you notice that even the angel picked up on John’s amazement] I will tell you the mystery of the woman and of the beast that carries her.”

What did John see that could account for such an extreme response from him in seeing this Harlot, even the angel picked up on it. In seeing the Harlot John saw something that related to Jesus but had gotten far beyond his imagination, something far beyond the falling away of his time and something far beyond what he saw in Jesus’ response to the seven assemblies in chapters 2 and 3. I can almost hear the words of John as he gazed at this Harlot, “What is this, they are using the name of Jesus? They are scattering His kingdom everywhere and each going by different names. What has happened to God’s kingdom, the power and the Glory? What is this that speaks of Jesus and yet is so full of corruption? They are using the name of Jesus and they are not doing any of the things we told the assemblies to do. What has happened? This is a totally different life than what Jesus gave to us, yet they are using the name of Jesus and acting like they are a part of us.”

When we say the Harlot church, we are saying Harlot twice. The harlot that John saw eventually became known as the “church”…….” …………..

Read the rest: online. Would somebody teach me how to add a PDF link to a blog post?

 

2 thoughts on “mystery history

  1. “I can almost hear the words of John as he gazed at this Harlot, “What is this, they are using the name of Jesus? They are scattering His kingdom everywhere and each going by different names.”

    I felt that for real after coming out of it sister. How could it be? How could it be. The very elect are being deceived if that were possible. The most amzaing part is how can it be so obvious and the church people be so blind. God will save His elect out of it by His grace, otherwise there would be no hope.

    -Jim

Leave a Reply

