The False Gospel of CHURCH

You were running well; who hindered you from obeying the truth? This persuasion did not come from Him who calls you. A little leaven leavens the whole lump. I have confidence in you in the Lord, that you will adopt no other view; but the one who is disturbing you shall bear his judgment, whoever he is. Galatians 5:7-10

One of the most popular false gospels currently is the false gospel of “Church”. This false gospel of “Church” has become popular in all corners of Evangelicalism of late. It is preached to unbeliever and believer alike. I’ve seen people in the community wearing t-shirts proudly promoting in large lettering THEIR CHURCH. Posters and fliers advertise THEIR CHURCH. I’ve been on ‘evangelism’ outings with groups whose “gospel message” to the community was, “Come to OUR CHURCH.” There are many sermons online preaching devotion to CHURCH. They preach the preeminence of CHURCH to Christians. There are Christian works such as music albums, websites and books, dedicated to making sure Christians are submitted to and devoted to CHURCH. This is being heavily promoted in Baptist, Reformed, Evangelical circles. This false gospel is just like Roman Catholic doctrine. To the lost their message is, “come to our CHURCH” (much like ‘salvation through Church’) rather than declaring the gospel of our Lord Jesus Christ. To the believer, their message is, “CHURCH is the preeminent thing in the Christian life.” Let us not get off track in our devotion. Let us not forget in Whom is our hope. Only the person and work of Jesus Christ is the gospel to the lost. And nothing but Jesus Christ is preeminent in the life of every true believer.

8 thoughts on “The False Gospel of CHURCH

  1. of course I am referring to the Institutional, Incorporated, 4-walls Church System, not the ekklesia of the NT which Jesus is building, the body of Christ, of which every saint is a part/ member.

  2. Hi Loretta,

    Very interesting post. Please have a look at the short video on my latest post. For me, this was a breath of fresh air as I was encouraged in being able to relate to the KIND of church that Grace Community Church of San Antonio, Texas is. We preach Christ and him crucified. That’s it! I would welcome your thoughts. Thanks!

    Have a great day in the Lord!

    Paul

  3. Well said. I serve on one of those evangelism committees. I find myself angry at the lot of them every time we sit down together. Time to discard the church logo and wear Christ – from the inside out.

  4. Loretta,

    We fellowship from house to house but also have met as a street church in the ghettos of Detroit to minister to the poor. I was shocked when we first started doing that because everyone wanted to know what Church you went to so they could give praise to the name of an organization. Also on that note, last spring a JW came to our door and I asked what he would have me to do, that is what action should I take in response to his message. I got him to admitt that ultimately I should come to his kingdom hall, and become a tithe paying member. I told him about the wonderful work Christ had done in saving me and that this mans religious system could never satisfy me since I now had the real thing in Christ. I showed him that he was trying to take away from what belongs to the Lord and give it to his religous institution instead. I trust he left ashamed and convicted that day.

    I long for brethren to know more and more freedom from the empty traditions that have been handed down to us from rome. Having true intimate fellowship with other brethren and functioning as a many membered body of Christ is one of the closest things to heaven on the earth. The building of institutions only seem to get in the way of that.

    Neither pray I for these alone, but for them also which shall believe on me through their word; That they all may be one; as thou, Father, art in me, and I in thee, that they also may be one in us: that the world may believe that thou hast sent me. And the glory which thou gavest me I have given them; that they may be one, even as we are one: John 17:20-22

  5. Dear Paul, thank you for your comment. You know, it took me 26 years to get to this view, and I’m telling you, I never dreamed I would come to this conviction. But the truth is, I now see the entire Thing (the Institutional System/Thing that man makes) as fully leavened. And leaven is a bad thing, not a good thing.

    All of a sudden, the Lord reveals that which has made it puffy and putrid. But before He reveals these things to us, it looks just fine to us, wonderful even. Stellar even. Admirable even.

    In science labs, the main way to cleanse instruments that are “infected”, is with fire. Same idea with purifying silver and gold. Purging through fire. That’s what it takes. This is what I see for The Church. God bless you Paul.

  6. Dear Lance, it must be difficult to be on an “evangelism committee” if the Church leadership and /or committee wants the message to be “Come to Our Church”, or, “Grand Opening! New Church!” …especially if as a gospel laborer, your heart is burning just to simply tell lost people the good news of the gospel of Jesus Christ so they can know Him and have salvation and a relationship with Him. God bless you brother.

  7. Dear Jim, I relate completely to *every word* of your comment.

    “because everyone wanted to know what Church you went to so they could give praise to the name of an organization.”…

    ..it took me a long time but finally I was convicted of this myself, and now I am very aware of / see how common this is. I did it myself but God showed me it was wrong. How subtle these things are…. but how they interfere with what should be the true focus of our affections, our Lord GOD. Thank you for your comment brother, God bless you.

  8. Loretta,
    When I read this post I felt as if I was reading conversations I have had with my husband. I am in agreement with you.

    However, I would like to ask you what you make of Jesus’ words in Matthew 23:2 & 3: “The scribes and the Pharisees sit on Moses’ seat, so practice and observe whatever they tell you—but not what they do.”

    In this passage the Master appears to be directing the people to sit under the teachings of the church so long as they are teaching from the inspired Law/Word/ Moses’ seat. What are your thoughts on this? Does Moses’ seat have any application for today’s visible ‘church’?

Leave a Reply

