Car Conversations

My car has become the site of some interesting witnessing conversations over the last year as I give my kids’ friends rides home from the high school and various teen activities. I am so thankful for this opportunity, as I fondly recall that God revealed Himself to me when I was in high school. Here’s a peek into some of the conversations in my car.

‘Susan’ asked me out of the blue what how I became a Christian and wanted to hear my testimony and the gospel. She then asked me heartfelt questions. Now she wants her own Bible to read.

‘Tony’ wanted to know what the difference between “going to church” or “church traditions” and a relationship with Jesus was all about and why.

‘C.J.’ questioned me about my belief in God, in a mocking- scoffing sort of way, as he is a proud atheist, evolutionist, modern intellectual.

Two boys on campus. There was a t-shirt wearing “outreach” event that the kids had at the school. The shirt features the Greek phrase, “He Gives”. So the kids are supposed to wait until someone asks them what the shirt says, and “what that means”, and then they can witness with their answer. (By the way, according to the instructions, they were not to be didactic or preachy, and only positive.) So two fifteen year old boys were wearing the bright orange “He Gives” t-shirts in the student parking lot. I was in my car waiting to meet up with one of my students, and so I gave the boys the opportunity to “practice” on me. I called them over and we chatted at my car window. I asked them what the shirt says, and then, what it means. I played “average inquiring person” for them, trying to get them to think and tell me the Gospel, until they figured out I was a Christian who was teaching them some doctrine. (So much fun!)

They proceeded to repeat the modern cotton candy gospel, which they have heard at church, Christian Club, and youth group. I kept asking them “why” Jesus was given. They were not really sure. They suggested felt needs. They told me part of the good news, but they were not sure why it was good news. My child was delayed in coming out to the car, so I had lots of time to tell these boys the “other parts” of the gospel, and teach them how to witness biblically. It was exciting to observe the lights going on. “Now it makes sense!” And they say you can’t evangelize on the high school campuses…

‘Cora’ was telling me from the back seat, how she is a “student leader” with a local parachurch youth ministry. I asked her some basic questions about her relationship with God and beliefs and she had absolutely no idea what I was talking about. She went on about all the fun they have in their group. I hope to chat with her again sometime.

‘Lily’ is a “pastor’s kid” (…her mother is the pastor…)and I’m not sure she’s heard the gospel. I asked her some questions about her view of God, and she admitted that she is not sure she “has a clue” or “gets it”. She started crying due to news that a fellow classmate and friend of hers died in a tragic accident during a music department trip to Canada. I think we made relational contact (and I hope, seeds were planted) as she listened to me relate my testimony of how this exact situation– a classmate dying in a tragic accident when I was in high school–was what God used to ultimately bring me to the place where He revealed Himself to me as the REAL, saving, forgiving, redeeming, healing and powerful God.

Most teenagers in our culture have not been taught or told much of anything real by parents, schools, campus ‘Christian Clubs’, churches, youth groups, and even many “Christian leaders and ministries”. Most ‘churched’ kids have not heard the true gospel. They are being brought into youth groups for fun,”belonging to the group” and socialization. What they really need is the real Hope of the gospel of Jesus Christ.

Related post: Educate Me

9 thoughts on “Car Conversations

  1. I am a firm believer that it is GOD who brings and draws people unto Himself by His Holy Spirit, through the reading and /or the hearing of the Word of God and /or the Gospel preached/ proclaimed. God is pleased to save people by the “foolishness” of this method- His method, His Spirit, His power. To His glory.

  2. Sounds like God has given you the opportunity and wisdom to minister to these teens that find themselves in or around your car. Shame on all of us for not being more intentional in passing the torch to the next generation.

    Great post!

    Joyfully His…

  3. hi megidio, thanks for coming by! I do not wish or put any shame anyone. But I hope and trust that we can all encourage one another in many different ways as we walk out our life in Christ as His people. Yes God gives us all different opportunities at different times in our lives. It is He who gives us courage to be intentional, and He who helps us to plant even one little seed.

  4. Great post, Loretta! Uncommon relating with common kids via the use of a common vehicle. May the Lord be glorified through your faithfulness and obedience by ever being mindful in bringing the Good News to those in need of a light they so desperately need, even those who have been enticed by, as you say, “the modern cotton candy gospel”.

  5. Just had a chat with my daughter and her friend “A”. Yup they both said that the church and parachurch youth groups they have been hanging around (for the purpose of seeing friends,)merely promote socialization (being part of the group) and teach that Jesus is “there for you” (this said to unconverted kids) and that He is there to help you with your problems and give you what you need.

    The truth of the gospel is not taught.

    Hello? Chap Clark? Hello Fuller! Hello apostate Churchianity!

    The girls told me there are specific kids in these groups who are seeking/ searching and wondering about “what is the deal”, but they have not been told the Gospel Truth in these groups.

    The church and parachurch leaders are ashamed of the Gospel. Are you ashamed of the Gospel?

    Romans 1:16 peoples!

  6. Good morning. Thank you for sharing these accounts of evangelism. It’s always amazing when such opportunities arise at moments when we’re not expecting it. I fear that many of us (or at least I) unwittingly let scores of divine appointments slip past us without even realizing it. May we all approach this issue with the seriousness that it demands.

    Thanks again for a most encouraging and stirring report. Blessings always in Jesus name.

    timbob

Leave a Reply

