Grandma’s Memorial

The steadfast love of the LORD never ceases, His mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning, great is your faithfulness oh God! “The LORD is my portion” says my soul, “therefore I will hope in Him.” Lam.3

Grandma was a classy, fascinating and caring woman. I will miss her so much! Some of my memories of grandma are: she taught me how to draw and oil paint when I was about 9 years old. She gave me my lifelong love for art. I remember her wonderful “classic American” cooking: roast beef, mashed potatoes and peas. I remember her playing with Snowflake her little Cocker Spaniel. My favorite memory was hearing her tell- and retell-all her amazing stories of her parents’ immigration to America, and her childhood in San Francisco during the depression days. So many stories! So many memories! I will miss her so very much!

One recent memory that has stuck in my mind is, a few years ago we were out to lunch for her birthday. She expressed her concern that “there is no hope!– no hope for the future!”. She was looking at all the things going on in the world: the war, diseases, the news stories, all the scary things going on in the world. In 90+ years grandma saw so much happen in the world, and much of it was in “uncertain times”; it looked bad and it was getting worse. My heart broke for her in her distress, and I wanted to offer hope…..

Because I love grandma had to share truth and hope to her, and because of love for you, I must share this with you too. You all know I am a Christian, and I am not ashamed….

This is what I shared with grandma……

The truth is that there is something far more urgent than war and other distressing global events. More real than the nightly news is the fact that “it is appointed for men to die once and then the judgment” because God is holy, righteous and just, like a just judge. But man is sinful and morally bankrupt, so our sin makes us guilty before God. “Sin is the breaking of God’s Law”- His Commandments. “Sin is lawlessness”, and “We are all law breakers”. The Bible says that people love their sin and they suppress the truth in wickedness. The Bible says that “all have sinned” and “the wages of sin is death”. Breaking God’s Laws condemns men.

But the Good News is that there is real Hope. The Hope is not in anything in the world, or in any person that was created by God, and our hope is not in our good deeds or goodness because there is no such thing as a good person. The Bible says “There is none good, no not one!” So we can’t put our hope in others or in ourselves.

But in His Lovingkindness, Grace and Mercy, God Himself provides our True Hope for us. “He demonstrated His love for us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” So our Hope is Jesus Christ, the righteous One, the Holy One, the good One. His death on the cross was a sacrifice of atonement in His blood for our sins- so judgment and justice for sin has been satisfied through His death on the cross -for all who believe!

Then He rose from the dead, defeating death! This is our Hope! Jesus said, “He who hears My word and believes Him who sent Me has eternal life, and does not come into judgment but has passed out of death into life.” Jesus came into the world to save sinners- He is our Hope!

Psalm 42:11 says, “Why am I discouraged? Why is my heart so sad? I will put my hope in God!
I will praise Him again-my Savior and my God!”

Jan.10, 2010

Juanita Gladys Cox
Nov. 21, 1915- Jan.1, 2010

One thought on “Grandma’s Memorial

Leave a Reply

