Thankful for Street Church

On Saturday I went downtown to where I was going to meet my husband later for a dinner and movie date. I went for a walk to get some much needed sunshine and exercise. Suddenly, the Spirit told me to go home and get some tracts. I went home and put 6 tracts in my bag and went back downtown. I don’t remember who I gave the first tract to, but after walking for an hour I sat down on a bench right in the middle of a major “hang out” area. To my right was a group five of high school boys and young men. Upon seeing them, I was overcome with great affection for them, and an overwhelming desire to share the Gospel with them. But how was I going to start a conversation with them?

Well as they started to leave, the last boy dropped a candy pack on the ground and as he turned around to pick it up, I caught his eye and motioned for him to come over to me. I gave him the five tracts for him and his friends. It turns out that 4 out of 5 of them are brothers in the Lord and we ended up having the most wonderful “street church” for about an hour and a half. They were so excited! We talked about Jesus, the Gospel, prophecy fulfilling, the Christian life, growing in discipleship, the coming persecution, faithfulness to Christ, Christian leadership and evangelism. Interestingly, it was they that brought up all these topics! We quoted scripture to each other to encourage one another. It was a sweet time of fellowship, edification and joy in Christ. Although a couple of these boys and young men know their Bibles back and forth, they all desperately need a mature male leader to disciple them, and also a local fellowship to meet with regularly.

Later after my husband and I met for dinner, we ran into them again on the street and I introduced them to my husband. We spent another half an hour talking with them some more and I could tell they really need someone like him in their lives for guidance. Later my dear husband told me they were a gang… I did not realize… Come to think of it, they did ask permission of “the leader” to go to the bathroom at the theater, and he told them to come right back to him, which they did. Later, one of the teens told me they originally came all the way up to here (from East Palo Alto) to beat someone up, but after talking with us, they then knew that God did not want them to do that, (and they didn’t!) but to forgive the guy they were mad at. They said the Lord sent us to them like He sends His angels.

So who is going to disciple these young men? Where are they going to find encouragement and Biblical instruction from mature believers? Who is going to teach them how to reach their friends with the Gospel?

How about you and your church?

Street Church= my term for worship of Jesus, rejoicing together in Christ, mutual edification and encouragement, sharing the Word of God with one another, serving one another and joyful happy fellowship with any fellow saints I meet on the street or anywhere in public, outside of “a church building” out in the real world.
5 thoughts on “Thankful for Street Church

  1. I dunno why, but this post reminded me of an experience I had and which formed part of this post of mine: http://cost-of-discipleship.blogspot.com/2007/12/wherever-you-go-hes-there.html
    From reading your blog it seems that you and we are on pretty much the same page about witnessing. We’ve had many other experiences or encounters like the one you describe in this post. Jesus just never tires of sending people to us, or us to people, whenever we go out in public, anywhere, any time.

  2. Romanos, thank you for coming by and letting us know about your lovely blog. I love what you said about Jesus never tiring of sending people to us, and us to people…. and I enjoyed reading this article:
    Who do we think we are, and whose? about ‘church’ vs. relationship with Jesus:
    http://cost-of-discipleship.blogspot.com/2009/11/who-do-we-think-we-are-and-whose.html
    Feel free to post other witnessing encounters here that you would like to share!
    God bless you, dear brother.

  3. Street Church= my term for worship of Jesus, rejoicing together in Christ, mutual edification and encouragement, sharing the Word of God with one another, serving one another and joyful happy fellowship with any fellow saints I meet on the street or anywhere in public, outside of “a church building” out in the real world.

Leave a Reply

