God is Good!

God is so good to me! He lets me be a foreign missionary here in my “native land” of the Bay Area. Yesterday I was at a community center with one of my children and I ended up having a conversation with Shirin, an older woman who is originally from Iran. This was the first real conversation I’ve had with someone who practices the Zoroastrian religion. I was amazed to hear her describe her philosophy of life: it was exactly as I learned from my brief study of this religion. She was telling me how it is all about having “good thoughts, good words and good deeds”. In other words, “It’s all good”!

DSC01279

Resisting the temptation to contextualize or just do the “friendship evangelism” thing, I decided I must go for it and risk offending this grandmother, and respectfully tell her some Truth. So I shared about how we are not good, and do not have good thoughts, and do not do good, but just the opposite. I told her truth from scripture about our sin and breaking God’s Law, and the pride, idolatry, unbelief, self-righteousness, and general wickedness that is really going on in human hearts. She recoiled at hearing this -distress apparent on her face- as though I would bring “bad karma” and spiritual chaos to her happy spiritual equilibrium of goodness. I felt bad about making an elderly lady uncomfortable and consciously asked myself, “Do I really believe what the Word of God says about God’s judgment of sin and Jesus being the only way of salvation? Yes!” Although such evangelism is deemed improper, (even by many Evangelical church leaders) I knew I must love God, Truth and people’s eternal souls more than culture, feelings, and social correctness.

She kept repeating the “I think good, I do good, I am good” mantra and I kept gently responding with Truth from scripture. She was even telling me I was good. I have not spoken to her of the Gospel; she is confident she is a good person, acceptable to her (false Zoroastrian) god. She agreed to meet and talk more tomorrow. I have some Farsi gospel materials left over from last year’s Nouroz. I long to tell her of Jesus Christ, the only God and Savior, and how she can be saved from her sins by trusting Him and the goodness of His Grace towards those who are not good.

“Why do you call me good? No one is good except God alone.” Mark 10:18


13 thoughts on “God is Good!

  1. I love your blog! It’s very encouraging. I would like to follow your blog, but I don’t see it set up for followers. I clicked on subscribe to feed, but it didn’t worked. Any suggestions?

  2. hi Tracy! I’m always behind the curve on learning and keeping up with new technology. Let me ask my personal IT expert (my 15 year old son) and I’ll get back to you as soon as I have an answer for you… : )

  3. oy! i’m taking a course in OT survey that really explains idolatry well… this sounds like one of those gods who really isn’t powerful at all… why? how do people get wrapped up in these things? eesh… I can’t wait to hear the rest of this testimony. =] cute photo of you too. =]

  4. hi Michelle! I’m not sure how old this religion is……. but it is old. I think Darius king of Persia worshiped this particular god (described in the link in the post). Darius was about 500 B.C. I think. Looking at the theology of “God” and man in Zoroastrianism, we can see that it is another lie of satan to deceive men into thinking they are righteous on their own, and with a little positive thinking, are god-like. It reminds me of Buddhism. Note how the character and attributes of this god are very opposite of THE LORD.

    oh… to answer your question: “why?” God says men love darkness rather than light because their deeds were evil (John 3:19). JESUS sends us, as His ambassadors, with the Light of the Gospel into the darkness!

  5. More thoughts…..

    The Righteousness of Christ is imputed, or given to us, by God (Romans 3-5, Phil.2:15-21 and many others..).

    The Righteousness of God through faith in Jesus Christ (Romans 3:21-31)!

    Goodness is a fruit of the Spirit(Gal.5:22).

  6. hi Richard….. I’m emerging from my (almost) 1 year blog reading break….. so I’m looking forward to being a bit more social again and popping by to say hello to brothers & sisters online ..Thank you for the fellowship…. : )

  7. Looks like the Lord is giving me the opportunity to have an ongoing relationship/friendship with this lady… she is always there when we
    are. Apparently she spends her day there while her daughter works there.
    We had a lovely brief chat yesterday and then she had to go… but I know
    I’ll see her again. : )
    I have some of Jesus’ wonderful parables I’m going to read to her (she told me she does not like to read in Farsi anymore… just English). The Lord is leading me to
    talk to her about Him and His Truth from these parables Jesus spoke.

  8. Of course, we know that “missionary” is a cultural, not biblical term. Tom White, in the July 2006 VOM magazine, states:

    “Our founder, Richard Wurmbrand, was an atheist who became a Lutheran pastor. Once he challenged us with the statement, “The word ‘missionary’ does not appear in the Bible. Jesus said, ‘I send you as My witnesses.’ ” Don’t wait for a missionary to do your job. “

Leave a Reply

