The Creator of Hydrogen

Sometimes I like to witness without ever talking about the Law, the attributes of God or the Gospel. Sometimes I just ask questions. I try not to get too much into apologetics, other than Presuppositional on occasion. I try to keep it simple. Every once in a while I like to do what is called “creation evangelism”. When I do this I always make sure to leave the person with a clear printed gospel message they can read later.

At Chabot Space and Science Center I had a conversation with a bright young engineering student who was working in the observatory. He asked me how I liked the megadome theater show. I told him that it was very good- except it was about 70% science and 30% philosophy and “religion”. He smiled, agreed, and asked me to explain.

I told him I loved the journey into outer space by “steps” that were each going away from earth by the power of 10. Thus we journeyed out to deep space and all the lovely observable galaxies. Then the film zoomed back to earth, where we now visited a paramecium in a drop of water, and ventured into ‘inner space’ to see DNA, molecules, atoms, electrons, protons and quarks. After this, the film became quite metaphysical. That is, concepts for which there is no scientific empirical data were presented as fact. The entire story of evolution (a philosophy) was presented in detail as fact: from swirling primordial ooze to man-as-astronaut.

I told the young grad student that the film mentioned matter, energy and forces in its presentation on how all things came to be. These things were declared as a matter of fact in the film (without explanation of their origins). So I asked the young man, “Where did the matter, the forces and the energy come from?” He caught me up to date on current Quantum Physics theories, such as “matter is energy, and vice versa.” I told him I was fine with that, but where did this matter/energy come from?

He told me that he, as well as all honest scientists, have no idea. Then he related some theory about a grapefruit size ball of matter (that existed before the laws of physics came to be!) that reacted…. and wa-la… the Big Bang. Again I asked him, “where did the grapefruit size ball of matter/energy came from?” “I have no idea,” he said with a big smile. Then he asked me if I knew. I’m glad I had one of these in my bag to give him at the end of our conversation. I’m also glad that we don’t have to be Astrophysicists in order to witness to highly educated people.

For since the creation of the world His invisible attributes, His eternal power and divine nature, have been clearly seen, being understood through what has been made….Rom.1:20

One thought on “The Creator of Hydrogen

Leave a Reply

