Winter Booklist

Brrr, it was 30 degrees outside this morning. Winter has arrived in the Bay Area! Time to crank up the heater and make cocoa. I love giving books for gifts, maybe because I am also a bibliophile. In January we will (God willing) get cozy on the couch with Ellie the puppy and read The Prince’s Poison Cup by R.C. Sproul, Monks and Mystics (The Medieval Church) and Courage and Conviction (The Reformation Church) by the Withrow’s. We’ll also listen to The Story of the World, volume 2, The Middle Ages, by Susan Wise Bauer, on CD. The kids can also read Do Hard Things if they are done with their historical fiction novels.

I’m looking forward to reading Jesus the Evangelist, by Richard Phillips, that Michelle so graciously sent. On my “wish” list is Christless Christianity: The Alternative Gospel of the American Church, by Michael Horton. Although I am currently weary of apostacy and heresy, (Lord give me strength to keep contending and defending!) my husband says I should read The Shack in order to answer Evangelical friends who think it is a great Christian allegory.

7 thoughts on “Winter Booklist

  1. I read “Jesus The Evangelist” earlier this year and was encouraged by it. Rick Phillips focuses on chapters 1, 3 and 4 of John’s gospel in the book.

    I was curious about “The Shack” for a while but this review ended any interest I had in it: http://amyletinsky.wordpress.com/2008/09/03/amys-marginalia-the-shack/. Amy Letinsky is a wonderful writer and does a great job with her book reviews on her site.

    By the way, I’ve heard good things about “The Prodigal God”. It definitely sounds like it’s in the “biblical” category.

  2. Joe, hi there. Thanks so much for your insight and review info on these books! Good summary review by Amy L. I liked the one comment about “with so many solid biblical books out there, who has time for junk?”

Leave a Reply

