Mosque, Pt.2

“So mom, what did you think of the sermon?”, my teenage son asked after church. “I thought it was good.” I replied. My son had a quizzical look on his face. Our pastor taught on Matt.7:6-12 and my son was thinking that v.6 was saying that we are not supposed to witness at all to anyone. He thought the verse taught that we should not do any outreach. He was wondering why I would thus want to go that night to meet Muslims.

I told my son that it does not mean that we should never share the gospel with any unbeliever, if that was so, then no one in the whole earth would ever hear the gospel. I told him our pastor was saying the verse means God wants us to use discernment, discretion, and prayer to determine who we should or should not witness to; asking God to guide us and make us know who He does, and does not want us to talk to about Him.

As far as I understand it, I told my son, the people in verse 6 are false teachers and those who are determined to hate the true God and His Word; those who reject and mock Christ and are not open to the gospel. They have hard hearts and reject the Holy Spirit. These hate the gospel and don’t want to hear it.

But not every person who has not heard the gospel is one of these. Some are lost sheep whom Jesus will find and gather into His flock. These are the ones He will redeem and reconcile to Himself, by His loving grace, through repentance and faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. It is these He is sending us to, as His ambassadors.

Therefore, we are ambassadors for Christ, as though God were entreating through us… 2 Cor.5:20.

Leave a Reply

