You Will See the Fruit of Your Labor

Witnessing Tip
By: Ray Comfort
Weekly Email Update
Aug. 11, 2008

“I’ve been out on the street witnessing for about three years now, one-on-one, and I can’t say confidently that I have seen anyone ‘saved.’ I’ve seen so many cry and do all that, but none of them have ever called me or written about how their new faith is going. So the question is: What do you do when you feel like you’re not doing anything at all?”

This is such a good question, because you are going to have people come up to you and say things like, “I led 169 people to the Lord last week, praise the Lord. All glory to Him for what He’s doing!” And there you are, faithfully laboring away, and you haven’t seen anyone come to the Lord.

More than likely, the main reason that you don’t see “decisions” for Christ is that you fear God. And because of that healthy fear of the Lord, you don’t want to lead a single soul into a false profession of faith. We know how easy it is to get decisions and impress people with numbers, but we also know better. It would be easy to say to those who stand around after the preaching, “Do you know that your name is written in Heaven? Would you like to have that knowledge? I could lead you in a sinner’s prayer right now, so that you can know that when you die you will go to Heaven. Would you like to pray?” God forbid that you and I would contribute to the numbers of tares that are sitting among the wheat in the contemporary church.

I preached the gospel open air for 12 years almost daily, and hardly saw a soul saved. However, after I left New Zealand and came to the United States, I started to hear of ones surrendering to Christ who had listened to the gospel so long ago.

So here is the way to keep yourself encouraged. See yourself as sowing in tears, then read these verses over and over, until you are familiar with them and understand them: “And he that reaps receives wages, and gathers fruit unto life eternal: that both he that sows and he that reaps may rejoice together. And herein is that saying true, One sows, and another reaps. I sent you to reap that whereon you bestowed no labor: other men labored, and you are entered into their labors” (John 4:36-38). “Therefore, my beloved brethren, be steadfast, unmovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, forasmuch as you know that your labor is not in vain in the Lord” (1 Corinthians 15:58).

Never be discouraged. Keep asking God that you may see fruit for your labors, but don’t let seeing fruit now be your source of encouragement and motivation. Let it simply be the fact that God is faithful to watch over His Word. There’s nothing wrong with the seed of the gospel and it’s up to God to cause it to bring life, in His perfect timing. You will see fruit in eternity. That’s where it counts.

Get training, ideas, tips and more at Livingwaters.com

7 thoughts on “You Will See the Fruit of Your Labor

  1. This is such an important concept to grasp. I never ask people if they want to say a sinner’s prayer with me. It is enough for me to share the Gospel and let God do the rest. When I understood that it is God who saves and not me, it took the pressure off of me and encouraged me to just share the Gospel. 🙂

  2. But Praise God when he does show you the fruit! It is so awsome. My son and daughter where baptised yesterday. Praise God!

  3. Thank you for you message, We had bible study tonight and I had to do it on the fruits of your labor. What a blessing it was. We are a new church called Unified Faith in Christ. We have about 30 members, and Sunday 7 were baptised. Praise God!

  4. Thank you so much for writing this. I can’t explain how much this has helped me. It is my nature to constantly give and help others. I love doing it and I love telling others about God. Sometimes though, I do feel slightly discouraged but I remember to stay strong and be of good courage. I keep asking, “God where is the fruit of my labor? Am I doing something wrong?” I know I am repeating myself, but this has helped me in ways you couldn’t understand. I thank God for you.

  5. hello Proverbs and Wisdom, Yes we sow in tears and we will reap in joy! You know your labor is not in vain in the Lord! I’m so glad this post was an encouragement to you. I hope to talk again & I look forward to visiting your site also. God bless you dear one.

Leave a Reply

