Grocery Store Witnessing

Lately I’ve been having so much fun doing some of my grocery shopping at the small mom and pop markets that specialize in a particular ethnic food style. My city is only bursting with these markets, and it is a fun way to meet people. These stores are uncrowded and the owners are friendly and have time to chat. My favorite is a Mediterranean market and deli where the owners are from Palestine and Lebanon. Then there’s another one where the owners are from Persia, and just yesterday I found another where the owners are from Nepal. I’m loving the delicious food and friendly conversations. Now if I can only get the courage to share the gospel with these dear people.

“Take courage; for as you have solemnly witnessed to My cause at Jerusalem, so you must witness at Rome also.” from Acts 23:11.

3 thoughts on “Grocery Store Witnessing

  1. Oh I hope you do!!! I’m the same way… how do you just bring it up? I always get so nervous… 🙂 I’ll be praying for you to have courage!

  2. hi micey. I get nervous too. I chat and make friends, and usually what happens is the person will say something that is a perfectly wonderful conversation bridge to spiritual topics….. so I’ll take what they are talking about and turn it to the gospel, and before long…….you are talking about Jesus. : )
    Then you can bless them with some kind of gospel bearing material like a gospel booklet or CD…….and then come back again next time to talk about it more.

    For example, about a year ago, in a small shop I was talking with the Persian owners who had been brought to court unjustly and were unhappy with the unjust judgment against them (a business matter)……..so after I expressed my concern and sympathy for unfair situations in a court of law, I used that to bring up God’s righteous judgment, the Law, our guilt, God’s mercy and grace and the righteous satisfaction of God’s justice in the gospel. I also talked about who Jesus is, (since they were Muslim) making it clear that He is God, since only God can pay for our sins Himself, out of mercy, but God did not let the sin go unpunished.

    Then I gave them the NT in Persian to read. The cool thing is these conversations happened over 3 visits, all during Ramadan! : )

    I’m hoping to do the same thing with these other shop owners. : )

Leave a Reply

