Bloom Where You’re Planted

Mountains. Lakes. Stars. Meadows, farms, fresh air, solitude…peace and quiet. I’m a country girl at heart. I’ve got the Canadian Rockies and the High Sierras in my blood. What on earth am I doing squished here between Silicon Valley and San Francisco? Why do I have the 101 in my front yard, and SFO in my backyard? Why am I surrounded by cement, with police cars, ambulances, helicopters, airplanes and trains for background music? Or why am I not in, say, Ohio, or in Africa, or somewhere deep inside the 10/40 window? Why am I here? Why are you here? What are we doing here?

There was a time when I really grumbled about living here. So many of my friends were moving out of the area, escaping the madness as it were; the crowds, the stress, the freeways, the high prices, the fast paced, materialistic, quasi-urban life. I wanted to go with them! But God was keeping me here. He convicted me of my attitude and brought me to a place where my eyes were opened like never before, to the fact that He had planted me here.

There is a reason we live here, and it is not to make enough money to take the ultimate vacation or buy the bigger house, or to just enjoy the mild Bay Area weather, eat at great restaurants, and go see the ocean whenever we want. We are surrounded by seven million people, and the population is still growing. We have probably the lowest level of church attendance in the country(I believe it is less than 1%) and we have very diverse demographics with people of every religion and belief system residing here. There are many people here who have never heard the gospel before. The Lord has planted us right in the middle of them all.

Jesus is building His church all over the world, until He returns. He is doing this Himself, by the power of the Holy Spirit. Part of His great plan of redemption is that He has placed us all where He has, He has given us His power through the Holy Spirit, and has commissioned us to be His ambassadors to go bring the gospel to the people around us; to be His witnesses, planting and watering the Word of God.

The mountains, lakes and stars I love will have to wait until I can get out and visit them every once in a while. Meanwhile, I am planted here “in the city” where the people are, and so are you. What are you doing here?

Therefore we are ambassadors for Christ, as though God were entreating through us..2 Cor.5:20

but you shall receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you; and you shall be My witnesses both in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and even to the remotest part of the earth. Acts 1:8.

2 thoughts on “Bloom Where You’re Planted

  1. Thanks for the encouraging words! Sometimes I long for a more rural life, but I too, know that God has planted me here. People are indifferent and sometimes downright hostile to the Gospel. But let’s proclaim it until the end!

  2. hi Jessi! Yes, let us keep on “blooming” right where He has us planted, even in the cracks of the concrete. We are part of His “master plan” for evangelism here in this corner of the world. Back in college, I was taught a definition for witnessing: “sharing Christ in the power of the Holy Spirit, and leaving the results up to God.” Amen!

Leave a Reply

